A sign of things to come

 

 

 

Image

 

Most authors would give their Fantail Goldfish for readymade tips on publishing a best seller.

Naturally, those tips would actually have to work.

Like many other creative occupations, the publication of a best seller is a difficult discipline and there are no tablets written in stone stating how to achieve that end, yet in my mind, to reach that goal, requires a little forethought.

The past five years have been devoted in getting Portrait of a Legend and other Folks into print.

I have begged, cajoled, borrowed and thought of every means conceivable to getting this book published and at this juncture, I am pleased to say that my journey may soon be at an end.

Due to certain legal obligations I am not at liberty to discuss what is taking place at this precise moment.

What I can say, is this.

If everything is as it should be, Portrait of a Legend and other Folks will be in a bookshop near you by next summer.

A major publisher has shown great positive interest towards the publication of Portrait of a Legend and other Folks and although many more bridges must be crossed, I am positively hopeful that a fruitful outcome will be achieved.

When I began this project the first thing I did was to figure out my market.

Although I am not writing the ultimate English romance novel, Portrait of a Legend and other Folks will be geared towards the 500 million Bob Marley, reggae and photographic loving fans worldwide.

I regularly take a peep at the New York Times bestsellers list online to see what kind of books are selling because I must know what books are getting readers’ attention and most importantly, their money.

What I have also learnt is books have a tendency to go in cycles.

The Harry Potter, Fifty shades of Grey types of book, does climb and stays at the top of bestseller lists.

But Portrait of a Legend and other Folks is not a fantasy, witchcraft book.

Also, it must be learnt that the Harry Potter author, Ms J.K. Rowling, submitted her novel to dozens of publishers and none showed her any interest, until she got lucky and is now a billionaire.

I am not aiming to follow Ms J.K. Rowling.

My aim is that someone will follow Lindsay Donald.

The title, Portrait of a Legend and other Folks, will get attention and it will make this book stand out from the rest of the pack.

I have put a lot of thought into this and for any publisher, it will be worth the effort.

*This portrait will adorn the book Portrait of a Legend and other Folks*

Leave a comment