The Bigger Picture!

In February 2012, I traveled with friends to Jamaica in the hope I would secure the needed finance to self publish 10,000 copies of the book, Portrait of a Legend and other Folks. Self publishing a book is faster than publishing with a traditional publisher and with the rapid development of online services available on the Internet and after much researching, I have found an online publishing house for Portrait of a Legend and other Folks. The book will be designed, printed and bound and will be available for worldwide distribution within the next four or five months.

Online publishing houses allow a much wider latitude and as such, I will be able to print one or one hundred thousand books at the click of a mouse. Portrait of a Legend and other Folks will be published in paperback and Limited Edition hardcover with dust jacket, and much later an eBook version will be inserted.

Although I do not know a lot about computer software and because of the robust technological infrastructure involved with online publishing, I will be joined by an expert who will assist with the technical aspects involved in self publishing Portrait of a Legend and other Folks.

Very shortly I will begin copy editing the over 40,000 word of text which will accompany the over 200 black and white photographs to be included in this work and my Publicist will begin work on promotional press releases for the promotion of this book in the coming new year.

For now, I am elated and am filled with joy knowing that at last I can become a small publisher. I will call the shots and retain the rights to this book but not only that, I can take home a much bigger royalty than I would normally get from a traditional publisher.

Naturally, I will have to sell some books.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a comment